2015 NHL Awards

This coming Wednesday, the National Hockey League will be conducting it’s annual award show in Las Vegas. The last time a member of the Canadiens took home a piece of individual hardware home was at the 2013 NHL Awards when P.K. Subban won his first Norris Trophy over Kris Letang and Ryan Suter. That same year, Brendan Gallagher was a runner-up along with Brandon Saad for the Calder (Best first-year player) who lost out to Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers. Also, Marc Bergevin was runner-up for General Manager of the Year.

But this time around, the Canadiens will look to earn some more awards as two players were named finalists for four awards. Carey Price is a finalist for the Hart Memorial Trophy, Vezina Trophy, and Ted Lindsay Award. Meanwhile, P.K. Subban will look to take home his second career James Norris Memorial Trophy.

Let’s take a look at each award that can potentially be won by a Hab:


Photo: NHL.com

Name: Hart Memorial Trophy
Description: Awarded to the player most valuable to their team.
Selected By: Poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.
First Awarded: 1923-24 - Frank Nighbor (Ottawa Senators)
Last Awarded: 2013-14 - Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
2015 Finalists:
- Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens)
- Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
- John Tavares (New York Islanders)

Click here for a more in depth AATH article on the Hart nomination:
Carey Price named Finalist for Hart Trophy


Photo: NHL.com

Name: Vezina Trophy
Description: Awarded to the best goaltender of the season.
Selected By: Voted by the General Managers of all NHL clubs.
First Awarded: 1926-27 - George Hainsworth (Montreal Canadiens)
Last Awarded: 2013-14 - Tuukka Rask (Boston Bruins)
2015 Finalists:
- Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens)
- Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators)
- Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota Wild)


Photo: NHL.com

Name: Ted Lindsay Award
Description: Most Outstanding Player.
Selected By: Fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.
First Awarded: 1970-71 - Phil Esposito (Boston Bruins)
Last Awarded: 2013-14 - Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
2015 Finalists:
- Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens)
- Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
- Jamie Benn (Dallas Stars)

Click here for a more in depth AATH article on the Lindsay nomination:
Price Nominated for Ted Lindsay Award


Photo: NHL.com

Name: James Norris Memorial Trophy
Description: Defenceman with greatest all-around ability in position in
regular season.
Selected By: Poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.
First Awarded: 1953-54 – Red Kelly (Detroit Red Wings)
Last Awarded: 2013-14 – Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
2015 Finalists:
– P.K. Subban (Montreal Canadiens)
– Erik Karlsson (Ottawa Senators)
– Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings)

Click here for a more in depth AATH article on the Norris nomination:
Subban, Karlsson, Doughty Nominated for Norris

It will definitely be an interesting award show to watch for Habs fans everywhere as Carey Price looks for his first ever Hart, Vezina, and Lindsay trophies, while Subban looks for his second career Norris Trophy. Here is how to watch the awards:

When: Wednesday, June 24th, 2015
Time: 7:00pm Eastern
Where: MGM Grand in Las Vegas, NV, USA
Television: Sportsnet / NBCSN

If anybody happens to be in the Las Vegas area, there are still tickets available to attend the event via Ticketmaster. Seats available range from $58 – $153 with the more expensive floor seats all sold out. Tickets include admission to the 2015 NHL Awards, as well as the full Daughtry concert which will follow the conclusion of the Award show.

According to a recent NHL Public Relations article, former NHL players including Mark Messier, Cam Neely, Daniel Alfredsson, Trevor Linden, and more as listed in the press release will be presenting some of the awards. As via the same article, P.K. Subban will be the host of the Samsung NHL Social Lounge backstage. Similar to last year, EA Sports will be presenting at the ceremony the player who will have the honour of being on the cover of the upcoming video game – NHL 16.

Below, are the rest of the awards which will have a named winner on Wednesday in Las Vegas:
Calder Memorial Trophy: Ekblad (FLA), Gaudreau (CGY), Stone (OTT)
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Datsyuk (DET), Hudler (CGY), Kopitar (LA)
Frank J. Selke Trophy: Bergeron (BOS), Kopitar (LA), Toews (CHI)
Jack Adams Award: Hartley (CGY), Laviolette (NSH), Vigneault (NYR)
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Dubnyk (MIN), Hammond (OTT), Letang (PIT)
Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award: Getzlaf (ANA), Ladd (WPG), Toews (CHI)
NHL Foundation Award: Burns (SJ), Giordano (CGY), Lundqvist (NYR)
General Manager of the Year: Murray (ANA), Sather (NYR), Yzerman (TB)

Awards already earned in 2014-15:
Stanley Cup Champions: Chicago Blackhawks
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Chicago Blackhawks
Price of Wales Trophy: Tampa Bay Lightning
Presidents' Trophy: New York Rangers
Conn Smythe Trophy: Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
Art Ross Trophy: Jamie Benn (Dallas Stars)
Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy: Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
William M. Jennings Trophy: Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens) & Corey Crawford (Chicago


Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Carey Price Deserves Better Than the Montreal Canadiens

It is needless to say that Carey Price is on a team that simply does not capitalize on his abilities. The Habs are on the verge of missing the playoffs for the third straight year. And while the injuries and bad calls are valid excuses for their current losing streak, there are plenty of errors […]

Share Button